The Sterile Processing (SP) profession is dynamic, ever-evolving and critical to patient safety and positive outcomes. Those who comprise this challenging, yet rewarding discipline and consistently go the extra mile in the name of service excellence are certainly worthy of formal recognition. The HSPA Awards Program does just that by paying tribute to SP professionals’ many contributions and successes, and their commitment to delivering safe, high-quality service to healthcare customers each day. We thank you for your hard work and commitment to doing what's right in the name of quality and patient safety!

2023 Award Categories

Nominations for the 2023 HSPA Awards are now being accepted! All Award nominations are due by Wednesday, February 15, 2023.

View the available categories below and nominate yourself or another individual today by clicking the links below.

SPD Quality Award

This award recognizes a Sterile Processing department (SPD) or team that implemented a quality improvement (QI) initiative or program over the past year that enhanced the department’s outcomes for the healthcare organization and its patients.

SP Leadership Award

This award recognizes a Sterile Processing (SP) supervisor, manager, director, or equivalent, who has demonstrated exceptional leadership qualities and has made significant contributions to their team, department and facility.

Sponsored by:

torvanArtboard 23x


Golden Slipper for Service Excellence Award

The Golden Slipper for Service Excellence Award is based on a story about a patient who lost his favorite slippers in the hospital and had them replaced by a caring healthcare professional who searched for, located and purchased a new pair of identical slippers for the patient. This award recognizes a Sterile Processing (SP) professional who demonstrated exceptional service within the healthcare facility that went beyond the traditional scope of their role.

Sponsored by:

Case Medical

Technician Achievement Award

This award recognizes a Sterile Processing (SP) technician who has made significant improvements in the function and operation of their department. The Technician Achievement Award was established in honor of Margaret J. (Peggy) Ryan, RN, for her years of leadership to the SP profession and her dedication to advancing the profession.

Sponsored by:




This commitment to advancing Sterile Processing (SP) knowledge, skill sets and professionalism is why over 40,000 members and certification holders rely on HSPA to keep them sharp, focused and abreast of the very latest standards, best practices and technological advancements impacting the SP profession.